Impact Makars: Future Dr. Rhoads


Future Dr. Rhoads
Bailey Rhoads Impact Statement 

It is important to remember that this is not a story of pity, it’s a story of happiness. My very own story filled with chapters of passion, struggle, hope, fear, and miracles. My story of how I make an #impact.

In 2011, at 17 years old, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. At 17, I was still considered to be a pediatric patient which landed me at St. Jude’s Children’s hospital. For many months I sat in the waiting room surrounded by sick babies and children. I saw the faces of the worn out parents sick in a way that can sometimes be worse than illness-sick from broken hearts and sadness. I had always known I had wanted to be Dr. Rhoads, but it was the struggling patients and desperate parents that made me realize that I, Bailey Rhoads, was going to make an #impact by becoming a pediatric oncologist, but the question was…where should I start? When I came to NIU I immediately got involved in a lab in the biology building that was focused on cancer research. I have been contributing to the cure ever since, growing more and more in love with what I do every day. Doing what I am meant to do, doing what I love.

So how do I make an #impact? By striving for greatness. By remembering the struggling faces. By being a part of the cure. By never giving up on my dreams. By sharing my story. And lastly, by being a survivor. #ImpactMakars #MakeYourselfKnown @JAMAEL_MAKAR_CLARK @ImpactMakars

2 Comments

  1. You don’t start boxing at 29, after chewing on bad bologna
    for being a real life pimp and collecting assault charges, if
    you aren’t somewhat unique. Maybe his mother was a fan of the Goddess Aphrodite (who favored Adonis) and his father that of Zeus (who immortalized him after being slain by
    a boar), because he seems supernatural. “Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni ultimately smashed a huge six with 10.

    Like

  2. She suggested pairing your carb intake with some healthy proteins, such as lentils, quinoa, Greek yogurt,
    hemp seeds and almonds. They are beginning their program on day one aand on day seven they
    are reporting weight loss that some times goes into the double digits.
    Once you sleep, all calories still in your system are turned into
    fat.

    Like

Post a Comment

