Impact Makars: Captain of the Leadership


Delante Impact Statement

Delonte LeFlore Impact Statement

HOW DO I MAKE AN IMPACT?

I remember growing up and learning about African American Leaders such as Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Phillip Randolph, Dred Scott, Rosa Parks, Harriet Tubman, Fannie Lou Hamer and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. just to name a few, and the IMPACT that they had on the world. I had always inspired to be able to follow in their footsteps, but never knew what was going to be my contribution to this world.

Many of us have the dream to make a difference in the world in some way or another. We have the dream to leave behind a legacy of greatness and have our names go down in history. I am reminded by Jedi Force technique called The Art of the Small. Jedi essentially narrows his focus … until he can use The Force to change things at a microscopic level. What Jedi was saying is focus on the small contributions that you give and overtime things will begin to change.

I make an IMPACT by serving as a role model to that person who was born on the great west side of Chicago. I make an IMPACT by reaching out and encouraging youth that the system says would not amount to anything. I make an IMPACT by going against the negative stereotypes that people have concerning people like me. I make an IMPACT by advocating and coaching agency for our generations. I make an IMPACT by serving as a resource and as a tool for others. I make an IMAPCT by praying for my brothers and sister that GOD continue to lead and guide, provide them understanding and the desires of their heart. I make an IMPACT by coaching others to give back and to never forget where you come from and how someone else reach back and helped you.

Post a Comment

